
Deadly Woods Errata, Clarifications, and FAQ’s – Updated 11/30/2021 

 

Errata 

Terrain Effects Chart - Towns are a Defensive Shift: ignore -2 behind shift; it’s a typo. Rulebook has it correct. On games 

shipped after the first 300 or so the typo -2 was covered with correction tape. 

 

Action Chit Summary Chart - Reaction 3 should say allows three Allied units to move, not Allied units in three hexes.  It is 

correct in the rules in 14.3.1. 

 

Action Chit Summary Chart – Reinforcements the wording “enter play”  means the reinforcing units  move from the 

entry hex, and if armor attack after that move. 

 

Map - The name of the river in hex 3106 should read Warche, not Ambleve. 

 

Map -On the Turn Record track the circles that show what entry area German reinforcements enter at are in yellow. 

They should be grey to match the colors on the map. 

 

3.2-The Peiper fuel dump counter starts the game in hex 3508, as printed on the counter. 

 

4.1 -The first bullet point, Allied Delay asset should be the second to last, after Allied Traffic asset. This matches the 

sequence in 12.1 which is correct.  Last Bullet point should read Move Artillery Reinforcements from the current turn on 

the TRT to the Allied Asset box on their front (available) side. All other Assets have already been moved from the TRT or 

the Asset box to the map in the previous bullet points. 

 

8.5 – The reference to hex 5407 should be hex 3508. 

 

10.4.1 - Motorized units must start on a road hex to used road movement.  

 

10.6.4 – Turn 8: delete reference to 43rd Infantry Division, the unit is not in the game. 

 

11.1- Motorized units may attack forest hexes even if not connected by a road. They may only advance after combat if 

the hex they attacked from is connected by road with the forest hex. 

 

11.4-A stack of retreating units may retreat to different hexes as long as they meet the retreat priorities. 

 



17.0- Turns 10, 11, and 12 have the Allied chits listed under the German ones. They should be down one more line 

following the word Allied. On last line, it says “On turns 7 to 13 the Allied player chooses the first chit.” Should say turns 

7 to 12. 

 

Clarifications 

10.4.1 - Motorized units may not use road movement if they started the movement round stacked with another unit of 

any type (regardless of whether that unit moves out before motorized unit moves) or are stacked with another unit at 

the moment they start moving. (some other unit entered hex before they moved) Exception: Units may use road 

movement if they were a reinforcement and started overstacked.  

10.6.2 – A bridge is repaired by a unit moving across the blown bridge during movement, not advance after combat or 

the one hex move allowed armor before combat during a combat phase. 

Action Chit Summary - The “All German” chit and the “One Army” chit allows the activated German units to move and 

then have combat. German armor units that do not move do not get an extra combat for not moving and German armor 

does not get to move one extra hex before combat.  

 

FAQs 

Can players look at the chits in the cup or the ones that have not been included in the cup? 

It really depends on how you wish to play the game. We don't prescribe it in the rules and leave it to the players to 

decide. I think it would be more interesting to not look at the chits. It really only affects the turns when the Germans 

have to choose between the 5th Pz and 6th Pz chits. 


